Welcome!

That’s me, my husband, and our son. I am going to start my PhD this year at Wageningen University (with a very prestigious 5 years funding from NWO); while he has completed data collection and ready to write his dissertation at Leiden University. We are very fortunate to have been given the opportunity to do our PhD together in the Netherlands, the best country in the world for child’s well-being!

This blog is to document our journey, the process we’re going through while trying to figure out life as a PhD couple with a toddler in foreign country. Both of us are doing ethnography and (coincidentally) share similar topic of interest. The scope of this blog will not be limited to our study topics. It will also be about our adventure!

If you knew me in person, you would notice that daydreaming is my middle name. The same thing could be expected on this blog: daydream, conversation and musings. My daydreaming consists of non-linear thought processes which sometimes result in quick think pieces (and my absent-mindedness). The conversation that I have would be random, most of the times with other-than-human living species such as articles, books, and reports. In parallel to that, my inner muse can’t resist to reclaim her space to reflect about life in general. Additionally, I’ll post pics of beautiful scenery of the quiet rural area where we’re living + the forest where we’ll do fieldwork next year.

Welcome, hope you enjoy! Looking forward to hear from you!

Featured photo taken by Abdil Mughis at King’s Park, Perth, Western Australia.

 

Author: nadya

on-going tensions between ready-made values and uncharted territory

12 thoughts

  1. Congrats on you journey with your doctoral process! I too am on the PhD journey and will be sharing some experiences as well. I noticed that you’re studying political ecology. This past semester in one of my courses I read a book on your very same topic of interest, Vibrant Matter: A Political Ecology of Things by Jane Bennett. This may be of some interest to you. Hang in there and congrats again!

    Here is the link: https://www.dukeupress.edu/Vibrant-Matter/

    1. Oh wow, this is what I love about the blogging community, look at what I’ve got here, thanks for the reading. It means a lot and is definitely on my list. Hugs!

  2. Just from your “Welcome!” page I’m excited to read about your family’s journey in the Netherlands, plus drool over some images I’d never be able to see first-hand but thanksye to the Internet and your access! Thanks for the post. You have a follower.

  3. What a wonderful idea to blog your PhD journey together. I did mine 20 years ago and wish I had a log or a diary to record the twists, turns, and blockages along the road. Keep at it and good luck. At 65, I’ve just done my sixth degree and starting another Masters, turning my efforts to film blogging and I hope some teaching on ‘reading films’. Never too late.

Share your thoughts

